Matchbox

In a flurry of nostalgia I bought two sets of cars from the legendary Matchbox series, delighted they still hadn’t really messed with the logo, I was shifted back in time to my weekly visits to “Julies” a local shop in Cabra that stocked them and millions of other things, and from which, my mam bought me a single car every week, without fail – for a long time.

I remember distinctly the display carousel that heaved with individually boxed cars, cement trucks, choppers and American police vehicles, to have those now, all still in their boxes stuck somewhere in an attic on the northside, a big suitcase full of memories, i think of the endless trips up and down those carpet covered stairs, fridays- lost down sofas and under pillows at night dreaming of highways in Californ- I -A.

Leave a Reply

