Fred Perry

From Wikipedia- Frederick John Perry (18 May 1909 – 2 February 1995) born in Stockport, Cheshire, was an English tennis and table tennis player and three-time Wimbledon champion. He was the World No. 1 player for five years, four of them consecutive, 1934 to 1938, the first three years as an amateur.

As an eight-time Slam winner, Perry is the last British male player to win any of tennis’s Grand Slam events, and one of only six men in history to have won all four Grand Slam events.

I wonder though if he knew the effect he had on thousands if not millions of Mods all over, from Meccas like Wigan through Cabra West right around to slick punk chicks in Melbourne and back again to some suburb in North Englands Rolling Ska strongholds.

I seen a teen yesterday with a London Fred on, simple black and Yellow trim/ Laurel, I know it’s only a shirt but I see them as my shirts, that I’m Modern, Does that make me a fashion victim or does it signal a belief in something, something not Nike.
It felt natural being a creative, a DJ, sometimes soulful.
It made a great deal more sense to me on the back of a Vespa flying through Segovia taking photos of Spanish Mods who are very particular about their style and beliefs in music, good food and standing up for something rather than stuck in a car sitting down for nothing.

I think I’ll be sixty and still wearing the shirt I bought this year for flying into New York, some things are just that important, Business or pleasure Mr Kelly, sorry I’m a Mod.

Leave a Reply

